Post #1 · Posted at 2015-02-14 08:42:21pm 9.1 years ago

Offline echo404
echo404 Avatar Member
2 Posts
Not Set
Reg. 2015-02-14

Last updated: 2015-02-15 12:33am
Hi everyone,

This post isn't exactly about Simfiles, but it does relate to the topic, and I wasn't sure where else to post.

I've been an avid StepMania player for about two years now, and because I'm constantly downloading new songs, my song library has grown to an almost unmanageable size.

As a software engineer by trade, I decided to program an application which could help me to manage the thousands of songs I have in my library. The result of this effort is a program I call StepMania Helper. I originally didn't plan to release the software publicly, but I figured it might be useful to others, and I figured it would be a good way to give back to the StepMania community that has provided me with thousands of hours of free gameplay.

StepMania Helper parses all songs in your StepMania library, and then moves songs (according to filters you define) to directories where StepMania won't detect them. The filters that are currently supported are as follows:
- Detect identical songs (duplicates)
- Detect alternative versions of the same song (using song name, artist, BPM, length, and music files)
- Detect songs which cannot be played on a dance mat (jumps that involve 3 notes)
- Detect songs that have inaccurate difficulties (calculates average step densities and then identifies outliers)
- Detect songs that have no difficulties under a specified threshold (too hard)
- Detect songs that have an average BPM over a specified threshold (too fast)

Once the songs have been moved by StepMania Helper, you can do whatever you want with them (delete them, move them elsewhere, or even put them back where they came from).