Register Log In Back To Forums

Post #1 · Posted at 2012-11-06 01:08:55am 11.3 years ago

Offline pez
pez Avatar Member
3 Posts
United States
Reg. 2012-11-06

Last updated: 2012-11-06 01:10am
So really I need to rant about my current first world problems! Please bare with me, I'll try to summarize this at the end. Smile I have gotten extremely close to passing 16s on ITG upgrade and dedicab machines when I do get to play every month or so, but I often find myself in walks of life in general where I am no where near a machine. Because of this, I have tried many solutions, such as working on perfecting a lightweight arcade like modular pad/bar combination (which is still in progress and is taking a while to work on due to needing very precisely welded parts), staying in shape and getting active in other sports, playing other rhythm games, and finally try out 2 different kinds of homepads.

The issue is, I'm a college student who goes places over the summer/off at internships and such during school, so I simply do not have the security of knowing I will have a way to improve my skills at the game unless I can RELY on a piece of hardware to help me improve. That being said, the cobalt flux I currently own is not penny modded, and I have not tried to adjust debounce times in stepmania either, but some arrows mistrigger and I have barely been able to pass 12's on it with extremely low scores. (70 or below). I'm afraid that playing on a homepad is just going to make it harder for me to get back into my stamina form once I do go and play on an arcade cabinet again. So is the cobalt flux really worth training on? Is it worth trying to mod it? I've seen a video of Sudzi passing a 17 on the cobalt flux, so I feel like maybe the mod will help, but I really need some convincing. Many people have told me the penny mod doesn't actually make much a difference, and neither do debounce times. Sad